Located just north of downtown Natchez on Cemetery Road and overlooking the Mississippi River, the Natchez City Cemetery was established in 1822 on 100 acres of land.
Natchez' initial cemetery was in downtown where Memorial Park and St. Mary’s Cathedral are today. When the cemetery was moved to its present location, the remains from the old burial ground were gradually moved to the "new" cemetery. Grave markers date back to deaths in the late 1700s.
Numerous beautiful, creatively designed iron fences, benches, iron mausoleum doors, tombstones and monuments are found within the cemetery.
Touring Options, More Information and Location Map
The cemetery is open from 7:00 a.m. until dusk. Everyone is welcome to tour the cemetery at his or her leisure. CDs to guide your individual tour are available at the Natchez City Cemetery Office (Shelter House on-site) or at the Natchez Visitor Center located downtown.
The popular Angels on the Bluff tour is held in November. This production presents local citizens who portray individuals buried at the cemetery, and many of the local actors are descendants of individuals they are portraying. This yearly event always sells out. For dates and more information, click here.
Please observe etiquette rules established by Natchez City Cemetery.
For more information, see: www.historicnatchezcitycemetery.org
Below is an interactive map with Natchez City Cemetery's location in the middle of the map (brown marker).