The Natchez Indians lived in present-day southwest Mississippi circa. AD 700-1730. According to historical and archaeological evidence Grand Village was their main ceremonial center starting around 1682. The early French inhabitants of the area (present-day Natchez, MS) described the ceremonial mounds built by the Natchez Indians on the banks of St. Catherine Creek as the "the Grand Village of the Natchez Indians." In 1729, after several disagreements and acts of violence, the Indians provoked war with the French and was subsequently destroyed as a people.
The 128-acre Grand Village site features a museum accredited by the American Association of Museums, a reconstructed Natchez Indian house, and three ceremonial mounds. Two of the mounds, the Great Sun's Mound and the Temple Mound, have been excavated and rebuilt to their original sizes and shapes. A third mound, called the Abandoned Mound, has been only partially excavated.
From the Natchez Trace Parkway travel to the southern terminus onto Liberty Road. Turn onto U.S. Highway 61 South (Seargent S. Prentiss Drive). Turn left onto Jefferson Davis Boulevard. The Grand Village of the Natchez Indians will be on your right.
For additional information, please see: www.mdah.ms.gov/new/visit/grand-village-of-natchez-indians/